Onwards & Upwards - How to make a living off creative work?

Moderator: Ghost Hip

Onwards & Upwards - How to make a living off creative work?

Postby baremountain » Tue Dec 13, 2016 11:16 am

So for those of you who don't know I currently work full-time as a research technician in a neuroscience lab - I went to college for Biochemistry, got denied from PhD programs because my research interests were vague, and took the first job I was offered once I graduated. It started off great: I spent the first 2.25 years with fairly flexible hours (scheduled 7A-3P daily), regularly showing up late/leaving early - so long as my work got done, my boss didn't care. My heart has never quite been in the work we do, but it's been alright because I make enough money to live nicely, if I had a show or went to see a concert I could always show up late the next day with no repercussions, & insurance is pretty cool. Fast forward to a few weeks ago, when the FLSA act went in to effect (Fair Labor Standards Act - a worker's protection bill to ensure proper overtime pay is issued or something? idfk, all I know is it fucked my shit up). This is my third week of having to clock in and out, rather than report my own fictional time, and it's been pretty miserable compared to my old setup. No pay bump or anything, just a much more blindly strict requirement that doesn't play well with my non-work lifestyle. Now working isn't important, all that's important is actually being here for 8 hours a day.