Drill press buying advice?

Moderator: Ghost Hip

Drill press buying advice?

Postby Gone Fission » Mon Jan 18, 2021 12:07 pm

I need to drill a neck for mounting on a body so as best not to fuck it up I’m going to get a drill press. So for light guitar DIY and some pedal build/mod stuff.

So what’s good? What’s bad? What features do I want? What features don’t matter? Should a bench-top press suffice?
D.o.S. wrote:Broadly speaking, if we at ILF are dropping 300 bucks on a pedal it probably sounds like an SNES holocaust.
friendship wrote:death to false bleep-blop
UglyCasanova wrote:brb gonna slap my dick on my stomp boxes
Gone Fission

IAMILFFAMOUS
IAMILFFAMOUS

Re: Drill press buying advice?

Postby Jero » Mon Jan 18, 2021 2:12 pm

I've been using a harbor freight table top drill press for 8 years or so. Cost like $60. Have never felt the need to replace it. Probably going to buy another of the same one soon.
I make noise toys under Stomping Stones

oldangelmidnight wrote:This is the classic ILF I love. Emotional highs and lows. Scooped mids in my heart all day long.
Jero

IAMILFFAMOUS
IAMILFFAMOUS

Postby Blackened Soul » Mon Jan 18, 2021 4:21 pm

One thing, if you ever decide you want it to do more than neck stuff the distance from the bit to the post that holds the table is important like if you want to drill holes for bridges or trough body strings, most small presses don’t have enough clearance...
Blackened Soul

IAMILFFAMOUS
IAMILFFAMOUS

Postby Gone Fission » Mon Jan 18, 2021 8:31 pm

Jero wrote:I've been using a harbor freight table top drill press for 8 years or so. Cost like $60. Have never felt the need to replace it. Probably going to buy another of the same one soon.

The one drill press I routinely see “that one falls apart on you” about is that one, so the vote of confidence is interesting.
D.o.S. wrote:Broadly speaking, if we at ILF are dropping 300 bucks on a pedal it probably sounds like an SNES holocaust.
Gone Fission

IAMILFFAMOUS
IAMILFFAMOUS