PG Distortion (Electra Circuit) Mods?

Moderators: Ghost Hip, blakemoth

PG Distortion (Electra Circuit) Mods?

Postby 57Goldie » Tue Apr 07, 2015 9:19 am

Im going to build a few pg distortion pedals from the kit. Ive got the kits, the enclosures look great, and i ordered some sockets so I can try a few different options for C1, different diodes etc. My question is this, has anyone tried putting a small cap across the diodes to cut highs? What value, .015? Can a person hear a difference in types of cap in this position. Any help would be appreciated, this is my first build connected to a forum so ill try and add pics and clips as I go. BTW, the vintage gold color matches my goldtop nicely...
57Goldie

uncommitted
uncommitted

Re: PG Distortion (Electra Circuit) Mods?

Postby 57Goldie » Thu Apr 09, 2015 12:27 pm

I found some help on my own, if anyone cares

Simple/Easy Mods

Increasing gain using diodes

If you have a circuit like the Jordan Bosstone or MXR Distortion+ or DOD overdrive 250 and others that have a diode pair creating the distortion at the end of a circuit, you can increase the output level of the circuit with the expense of a little distortion by putting two diodes where there were one. So instead of 2 diodes, you now have four.

This mod will increase the output level with the expense of a little distortion.

More diodes in series will also give you a wider range of clean to distorted sound but less distortion when the circuit is maxxed. Something to note is that a germanium diode "clips" at around .3V and a silicon diode "clips" around .6V so you need roughly 2 germanium diodes to equal one silicon diode. A good multimeter will allow you to measure the diode and find out what the forward voltage is. LEDs will clip even later and give you more range of clean to distortion.

Mellowing out distortion using a capacitor around diodes