MIDI Editor for Hardware Synths

Moderator: Ghost Hip

MIDI Editor for Hardware Synths

Postby baremountain » Fri Dec 14, 2018 2:55 pm

So I started playing keys in a band, and my primary synth is my roommate's Casio CZ-1. Editing settings onboard seems like it's not gonna jive too well with me, and honestly fear of doing anything too computery is kinda one of the reasons I just went with a modular synth. I'm wondering if there's a *free* (cheap is okay too, I guess), *easy to use*, and comprehensive MIDI editing program any of y'all use? The interface on the keyboard is very button clicky and kinda menu divey and that sounds nightmarish. Ideally I'd just be able to take a gander at the patches that exist and do things like change velocity sensitivity (global would be sick, but per-patch is acceptable), maybe create a few tone split presets so I can play bass with my left hand and normal keys with my right, and maybe even screw around with the synthesis parameters (though I'm quite content to stick mostly with presets/amalgams of presets mapped to tone splits). I'd like to see the parameters written out as actual text, i.e. Velocity = 5, rather than something like CC46 = 125 or whatever the hell.
Doing something similar with my DX-11 would also be ideal, and maybe even my Meris & Chase Bliss pedals if I were to get a MIDI box for those?

I was hoping one of you might know know if I'm on a wild goose hunt, or if this is something attainable? Seems like the well-tailored editors for the Meris & CBA stuff is more of a pipe dream since they're newer, niche products, but both the DX-11 and the CZ-1 are fairly ubiquitous outdated synths, so there's gotta be something online, right?